Who's next up for the Hall of Fame?

  • WSOP has announced the nominees for this year's Poker Hall of Fame. the ceremony will be held along with WSOP Main Event Final table between 28-30 October. Who would you vote for?

  • There is a huge honor to join the WSOP Poker Hall of Fame. Some consider it a bigger thing than winning a WSOP bracelet. And there's a reason for that. A WSOP bracelet may mean you are really good at playing poker and you had some luck on your flips. Introduction to the Poker Hall of Fame means that you have been recognized not only as a poker player but as contributor to the poker community. And actually, there are many people who deserve this but every year there is fierce competition. So, where goes your vote?

    WSOP Announced this year's nominees

    The WSOP Poker Hall of Fame has been introduced in 1979. It is not an annual event as sometimes it may take up to four years to somebody to be nominated but for the last 11 years every year there is one or two people who are introduced into WSOP Poker Hall of Fame.

    As you may know WSOP Main Event has two parts. Firstly, the large player pool is reduced to the Final Table also called The November 9. WSOP is held in mid-summer but the Final table is played in Autumn. This has become a tradition that along with the announcement of the WSOP Main Event winner of the year there are also festivities held dedicated to the introduction of the new Poker Hall of Famers. So, not long to go – this year WSOP Main Event Final table will take place between 28-30 October

    This year's Ten Nominees to WSOP Poker Hall of Fame are :

    • Chris Bjorin
    • David Chiu
    • Eric Drache
    • Thor Hansen
    • George Hardie
    • Jennifer Harman-Traniello
    • John Juanda
    • Tom Mcevoy
    • Scotty Nguyen
    • Brian “sailor” Roberts

    WSOP Criteria for Poker Hall of Fame

    It is not that easy to become a nominee, not to mention becoming a Hall of Famer. But if you do, you know you are there forever with such players like Johnny Moss, Erik Seidel, Doyle Brunson, Stu Ungar and many others.

    As WSOP puts it, the criteria to being introduced as nominee to WSOP Poker Hall of Fame are:


    • A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
    •  Be a minimum of 40 years old at time of nomination 
    • Played for high stakes
    •  Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
    •  Stood the test of time
    •  Or, for non- players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.

    What does poker world think about WSOP Hall of Fame nominees this year

    Actually, not many players have come forward to express their official opinion on the favorites this year but one of the greatest ever poker players Doyle Brunson has been the most honest. He has tweeted that his favorites would be Juanda and Drache, but he also agrees that Brian “sailor” Roberts deserves lots of credit, too.

    Doyle Brunson's Tweet:

    Who's your favorites? If you do not know a player or two, there are the descriptions of all of them at WSOP official Poker Hall of Fame site. Do not forget to follow us on Twitter and Facebook.